At the Law Office of Christopher S. Coleman, PLLC, we believe in keeping you well-informed about everything that is happening with your case.
For your convenience, we have created the following list of frequently asked questions:
- What should I do after a DWI arrest?
- Do I have to take a breathalyzer test?
- What is the penalty for a first time DWI offense?
- How can an attorney help me fight Poughkeepsie DWI charges?
- Are penalties more serious for repeat offenders?
Contact us for experienced guidance with DWI charges in Poughkeepsie and throughout the Hudson Valley
The Law Office of Christopher S. Coleman, PLLC is ready to assist you when you face charges for DUI. We have the experience and knowledge to help you every step of the way. For more information about our services, contact us today by phone at 845-454-2569 or via our online form.
Immediately following an arrest for DWI, you should try to remain calm and cooperate with police. However, you have the right to remain silent, and you should invoke this right. Next, you should ask for an attorney. At this point all police questioning must stop. Lastly, you should wait for your lawyer to arrive.
When you obtain a driver’s license in New York, you agree to submit to a blood, urine and breath test in the event that you are suspected of drunk driving. If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test, your driver’s license may be suspended immediately. To find out more information about whether you should take a breathalyzer test after being stopped by police, contact us today.
Even first time DWI offenders in New York face serious consequences:
- Fines that can be as high as $1,000.00
- Mandatory surcharge of $400.00
- NYSDMV Driver’s Responsibility Assessment of $750.00
- License revocation for a minimum of six (6) months
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in any vehicle owned or operated by you for a minimum of six (6) months
- A sentence of three (3) years’ probation supervision or up to one year in jail.
Repeat offenders and commercial drivers face even more serious consequences. For trustworthy DWI help, contact the Law Office of Christopher S. Coleman, PLLC.
The moment you retain a lawyer, he or she can begin protecting your rights. First, your attorney can gather evidence to defend you in court. Additionally, your lawyer can negotiate with prosecutors to have the charges against you reduced.
Yes. In fact, with each subsequent offense for DWI, the penalties increase dramatically. Third-time offenders face up to seven years in jail, $10,000.00 in fines, a one year minimum license suspension and 60 days of community service.
Learn about our Law Firm
- Criminal Defense Overview
- DWI Traffic Offenses
- Business Law and Commercial
- Residential Real Estate
- Civil Litigation and Personal Injury
- Family Law
- Estate Planning